Who should win at tonight’s NTA’s

January 26, 2011

Hot on the heels of the Comedy Awards (which I thought ended up being quite lackluster actually), it’s time for the National Television Awards. I’m dubious about watching the actual ceremony after last years Cowell-fest , but I will tell you the shows and people I’d vote for in the 12 awards.

Here goes…

Talent Show

  • Britain’s Got Talent
  • Dancing On Ice
  • Strictly Come Dancing
  • The X Factor

Eurgh! I suppose this category sums up what a lot of TV has become, but I have to say I hate all of it! I’ve gone for Strictly for Bruce Forsythe. He’s amazingly the person I find most professional, entertaining and funny out of this sorry bunch of shows. As for the actual content, couldn’t care less… move on!

Comedy Show

  • Benidorm
  • Harry Hill’s TV Burp
  • Michael McIntyre’s Comedy Roadshow
  • Outnumbered

Tough one. I love comedy – but this isn’t the best choice. I don’t rate Benidorm and Michael McIntyre’s show is just a poor mans ‘Live At The Apollo’. That leaves us with TV Burp and Outnumbered, both of which had disappointing series in 2011. But I’ve decided to stick with Outnumbered as it’s a brilliant original show and as Series 3 was it’s final one, we won’t be getting any more! Sorry Harry.

Outstanding Serial Drama Performance

  • Katherine Kelly (Corrie)
  • Steve McFadden (EastEnders)
  • Lacey Turner (EastEnders)
  • Danny Miller (Emmerdale)

I hate soaps (or serial drama’s as they are dressed up to be for awards) and so I know none of these people. But whenever I happen to see an episode of Emmerdale, they always seem to be doing something ridiculous like blowing up a house, having a fire or even a plane crash. Therefore I suppose Danny Miller can have the award, well done… I think.

Outstanding Drama Performance

  • Philip Glenister
  • David Jason
  • Matt Smith
  • Benedict Cumberbatch

At last, some quality! I love all four of these actors and it’s been a very tough decision (not least because the current Doctor always seems to win this), but Matt Smith has been a revelation. Be honest, no-one gave him a chance against David Tennant, yet in my opinion, Smith has not only levelled, but surpassed Tennant’s portrayal of the Mad Man with a Box. He thoroughly deserves this one!

Topical Magazine Programme

  • BBC Breakfast
  • Loose Women
  • This Morning

Oh dear, you can tell this is an ITV awards ceremony can’t you. BBC Breakfast is the only one of these that I can stand and therefore it gets my vote. It’s not perfect though, far too much programme promotion in it. Hey, that reminds me, why isn’t Daybreak nominated for anything??!

Most Popular Drama

  • Doctor Who
  • Shameless
  • Sherlock
  • Waterloo Road

It was always going to be between two for me, Sherlock and Doctor Who. Sherlock has been a brilliantly written gem on BBC1, it’s only problem being it was too short. But this years Doctor Who has been the best since it came back. Every episode (excluding that crappy Dalek one) was brilliantly written and what an excellent finale. It wins every year, but this year it deserves to!

Most Popular Serial Drama

  • Coronation Street
  • EastEnders
  • Emmerdale
  • Hollyoaks

Crossroads!! See earlier, I don’t care… well done Emmerdale!

Most Popular Entertainment Programme

  • Big Brother
  • I’m A Celebrity…Get Me Out of Here
  • Mock The Week
  • QI

I’d like to see it win one last time. Whatever you say about Big Brother and what it became, it had a massive influence on our screens and always will into the future. A lot of it was absolute rubbish, but it was worth watching for those gems that were quite frankly hilarious. It was the only reality show I watched by the end and it will always be my favourite.

Digital Choice

  • Glee
  • Peter Andre: The Next Chapter
  • The Inbetweeners

Why is that Peter Andre rubbish even in this section, is digital TV really that bad? Where’s Being Human for example?? Anyway, this is elementary surely? The Inbetweeners is one of the best sitcoms around and stayed side splittingly funny (and cringeworthy) through to the end. Although I fear that glamourised musical will win this one…

Most Popular Entertainment Presenter

  • Ant and Dec
  • Davina McCall
  • Dermot O’Leary
  • Paul O’Grady

What an awful and extremely ITV bias lineup that is. Where’s Charlie Brooker?! I’ve gone for Davina, not for her talent so much, but because she’s the only one on the list who isn’t locked into an ITV only contract…

Most Popular Factual Programme

  • Celebrity Masterchef
  • Junior Apprentice
  • Top Gear
  • Who Do You Think You Are?

I think the word factual has been used very loosely here. In what way is Celeb Masterchef or Top Gear factual… I was expecting documentaries! Anyway, I will succumb to this thanks to constant indoctrination from Lord Sugar on Twitter. I vote for Junior Apprentice. Well it was quite funny!

Most Popular Newcomer

  • Paula Lane (Coronation Street)
  • Ricky Norwood (EastEnders)
  • Marc Silcock (Emmerdale)
  • Olga Fedori (Holby City)

Aaargh! Are there no newcomers on the whole of TV that didn’t come from a Soap??? I’m abstaining from this one for the sure ludicrous of it (that and the fact that I’ve watched none of those shows this year).

And that is the National Television Awards 2011. I remember quite enjoying this ceremony a few years ago, but it seems to me it’s been tainted with ITV’s ‘flashy lights at expense of content’ brush. Tonight we’ll be ‘treated’ to Dermot O’Leary presenting, Cowell in the front row and a performance from some painter called Matt Cardle. Oh and I’m sure Jedward will turn up somewhere.

I can’t contain my excitement….

Let me know who you’ve voted for/want to win/think will win, below!