What’s wrong with Who?

Something’s been confusing me about this new series of Doctor Who. Every week (excepting the Daleks which was quite disappointing) I have loved the story and would personally say the show is at the best it’s been in a long time. Yet countless people seem to disagree with me. I’ve seen so many comments asking for Russell T. Davies and David Tennant to come back, but why? What do people have against the new series?

Change could be a big factor. It’s always said that change is good, but initially people seem to hate it. Just look at Facebook, it’s constantly changing it’s homepage, but we all get used to it in time. But that hasn’t happened here.

The BBC took a HUGE risk by completely revamping the show, changing the showrunner, reworking the titles and logo and introducing a whole new Doctor. Personally I think this has really worked, the new titles give the show a mysterious edge, Stephen Moffatt has brought the show a whole new, fairytale style and Matt Smith has fallen right into this.

But I suppose I can see why some would not like this. For 5 years we’ve been used to Russell’s style of storytelling, which is much more about the adventure, the action and the monsters, whereas Stephen sticks to the mystery, the drama and the storyline. It’s quite a change and one which I think has really benefitted the show, but many disagree and have found episodes ‘boring’.

And this brings me on to probably the biggest problem that people have with the new series. The storylines require them to think. There’s no doubt that this new series of Who is much more intelligent than it’s predecessor. The story’s a fragmented and have more complex enemies like the weeping angels and this weeks ‘fish-vampires’! These stories require you to become invested in the story, something I love, but something others don’t so much. The days of dipping in and out of Who seem to be over.

There’s also the underlying story of the ‘cracks in time’ which are appearing everywhere. I once again love this idea, but it does involve you understanding everything and keeping with the series week-on-week. I suppose this has made the show more appealing to fans who want to follow a series, but that’s who I am. I’ve always enjoyed following a drama every week and Doctor Who has now become this must-see fairytale-esque, intelligent drama that I simply love.

Some people have said they don’t like Matt Smith. This I simply don’t understand. From the moment he stepped through the image of David Tennant and announced “I’m the doctor” in ‘The Eleventh Hour’, I think he has been fantastic. He plays the role better than either Ecclestone or Tennant. He has the wackiness off to a tee, but has also shown that he can pull off the serious and angry doctor amazingly as well.

Simply don’t insult Smith’s performance, because to me it’s been truly amazing and has gripped me to this show week-on-week.

Whatever happens in life we all have different opinions which is fantastic, it makes the world go round and makes my blog possible. But I simply can’t understand why some people (and they do seem to be in the minority) hate this new series. It’s given us everything already and we’re not even half way through. I’m even enjoying it as much as Lost (and that’s massive for me).

Congratulations to all involved, because it truly is a masterpiece!

2 Responses to What’s wrong with Who?

  1. Cats says:

    I wanted to like Matt Smith. I still want to like him. Maybe in a year or two, when he’s had a chance to grow into the role, I will like him. He’s trying his best but he’s been set an impossible task. He’s a very young man, his face, his speech, his body language visibly a product of his time and generation, trying like mad to portray an old man, like a teenager in an unconvincing white wig in a high school play. And this doctor’s companions can’t act, which doesn’t help. But what’s worse is that the rest of the production has been changed to something less interesting, less involving, less emotionally intelligent. The screenwriters push the characters around; there’s no sense of a real, organic story developing in a genuine way. The first episode was a mishmash of scenes from previous seasons of Doctor Who and Torchwood. Not a good idea to make us remember the earlier ones because the originals were so much better. The second episode was crammed with way too many poorly thought out ideas. The third episode doesn’t even bear talking about. The fourth and fifth were better, sort of, but they ruined the angels, who are no longer terrifying. I fast forwarded through the sixth because it bored me. I’m glad you like the new Who. Lucky you. I’m going to miss it. Oh well, it was nice while it lasted.

  2. rainegendron says:

    I’m actually seeing a mixed bag. Many hated RTD and love the new series under Moff. Others really liked the RTD era and want him back. Then you have those who think all NuWho sucks and nothing will ever compare to the Classic Who. I’m seeing more in the Moff camp personally, so I’m surprised you find it otherwise.

    You are absolutely correct about the fact that Moff makes us work a bit harder and think a bit more about the long range plot and character development (Amy). Despite six episodes, we still don’t know Amy very well, do we? I like this development (more like LOST) where the characters have many layers to figure out and are not just “types.”

    Matt Smith is no David Tennant. Nor should he be. They are different actors and will be different Doctors. I don’t have a problem with it, even though I do miss DT. So far I’m liking Matt’s take on the Doctor, I like that he is less sad, less humanistic, and a little more cranky, sort of a blend of One and Three.

    People need to get over it and just try and enjoy the new Series without comparing everything.

Leave a Reply

