F1 2009: The Italian Grand Prix – Result

Earlier today I gave you my prediction for the Italian Grand Prix, so how did I do?

Well, not so well! Two of my predicted top-three drivers made it onto the podium but not in the order I expected.

The truth was, the Brawn’s were on much better for than I think anyone expected. Their one-stop strategy really paid off big time (much more than other teams opting for a one-stop). It was a display similar to what we344071 experienced every race at the start of the season. It showed us once again the master tactician that is Ross Brawn. Personally, I now can’t see the championship’s going anywhere but to Brawn.

But which Brawn driver will win? Barrichello now stands only 14 points behind Button. It’ll only take one DNF from the Brit to make the game, more or less, level again. Team Principle Ross Brawn says they’ll be allowed to race til the end, so we could still be in for a nailbiting conclusion to the season.

Just a quick note on Hamilton. I was most surprised to see him crash out at high speed on the final lap. The real question is why was he pushing so hard. I think it was fairly evident that he wouldn’t catch and pass Button before the end, so why risk it (an inevitably lose it) all on the final lap. It was a real shame after a hard worked weekend from Lewis, but I feel it will only help him mature more as a driver.

So that’s all for the Italian GP, quite an entertaining one as they go. I’ll be blogging about the Singapore GP in 2 weeks time, but before that, the Renault/Piquet court case in just over a week.

My prediction

1. L. Hamilton

2. K. Raikkonen

3. J. Button

Provisional Classification

Pos Driver Team Time Pts
1 Rubens Barrichello Brawn GP 76:21.706 10
2 Jenson Button Brawn GP +2.80 8
3 Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari +30.60 6
4 Adrian Sutil Force India +31.10 5
5 Fernando Alonso Renault +59.10 4
6 Heikki Kovalainen McLaren +60.60 3
7 Nick Heidfeld BMW-Sauber +82.40 2
8 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull +85.50 1
9 Giancarlo Fisichella Ferrari +86.50 0
10 Kazuki Nakajima Williams +1 lap 0
11 Timo Glock Toyota +1 lap 0
12 Lewis Hamilton McLaren +1 lap 0
13 Sebastien Buemi Toro Rosso +1 lap 0
14 Jarno Trulli Toyota +1 lap 0
15 Romain Grosjean Renault +1 lap 0
16 Nico Rosberg Williams +2 lap 0
Ret Vitantonio Liuzzi Force India Retirement (lap 23) – technical failure 0
Ret Jaime Alguersuari Toro Rosso Retirement (lap 20) – mechanical failure 0
Ret Robert Kubica BMW-Sauber Retirement (lap 16) – damage from earlier crash 0
Ret Mark Webber Red Bull Retirement (lap 1) – crash 0

Source: Planet-F1

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: