Song Of The Week – 29/03/2009

For anyone who knows me, you’ll know that it was only a matter of time until a Muse song was my song of the week. For me no other band compares to the incredible sound of the boys from Devon and with news of an Autumn tour spreading across the internet, I feel it’s time I featured them. And so I give you this week’s, Song Of The Week…

Muse – Citizen Erased

I’ve chosen this track as many people wont know it. Muse really sprung into the limelight with ‘Absolution’ and more recently ‘Black Holes And Revelations’. This is from their earlier album ‘Origin Of Symmetry’.

It’s a song which took me a long time to get into but one that I now absolutely love. It’s a very dark song at times with a heavy rock sound and Bellamy literally screaming out the words. However it ends very calmly, a complete contrast which is something Muse are brilliant at pulling off. As always Bellamy’s lyrics are extremely emotive and at times don’t make an awful lot of sense. But that’s the brilliance of a great Muse song.

Citizen Erased is a bit of an epic experience at 7.19 in length, but it’s enjoyable for every second. That’s why I’ve made it my Song Of The Week!

Muse - Hullabaloo Soundtrack - Citizen Erased (Live) (This links to a live version of the track from Hullabaloo which I believe to be the best version)

Leave a Reply

